Little Road Trips

I used to hate driving. Due to the unfortunate fact that when I was little. I used to have nightmares about driving our family vehicle on road trips, and then somehow managing to kill us all in a terrible crash. Whether those recurring nightmares actually meant anything or not at the time, I have since overcome the fear and actually rather enjoy driving.

I drive quite a bit now. I go back and forth between my home in the mountains of North Carolina to my little apartment in the foothills of South Carolina. I make the drive nearly every weekend. And it’s in those three hour road trips that I think, what on earth am I doing? I’m almost 25 years old now, and do I know where I’m actually headed? Like I have an idea of where I want to be, but it’s the actual process of getting there that I’m not so sure about anymore.

In spite of the worrisome thoughts I dwell on during my little road trips. I was reminded that while I may not know the extant of every minute detail of God’s plan for my life. That’s perfectly okay. Simply put the not knowing is Him saying gently. “Laura, trust me. I’ve got this.”

It’s an easy promise to forget when the pressures of the world come crashing down upon shoulders that are nowhere near strong enough to bear their weight. However, it’s a promise I’ll gladly be reminded of as many times as it takes to get the message to sink in. And I’m happy to gently remind others. Don’t fret He has got it all worked out. No matter where you are in life.

How do I know you might wonder? I have faith in Him and what He has promised me He said He WILL do. So sure my worries are not going to evaporate into thin air. They will still be there, but I don’t have to carry them on my wee shoulders. He’s got that all under control. All He asks of us is to trust in Him and have faith.

My little road trips are just a temporary stage in life, but I am happy to say I do enjoy the drives. They give me time to meditate on God’s promises. The views of the mountains, and woods which I have come to know so well are not bad either. When the time comes, I’ll miss the scenic little trips, but my time meditating on God’s promises won’t disappear with them.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

