Don’t Just Cope

Recently, I was having coffee with a really good friend of mine, and for the first time in a long time. I needed to share. All the things that I try so hard to have a lid on and keep bottled up for fear of people seeing just how much I really don’t have it all together came spewing out like an all too wrecked bottle of coke.

And it was in that conversation with this very kind and understanding friend, that I realized there is absolutely no need to keep all these fears and worries bottled up. It does me no good to pretend that everything is all right, and what’s worse as a Christian I know better. I have a relationship with someone far stronger in every way who can carry my burdens so much better than I ever could.

Because at the end of the day I am just a fragile, fallible, and finite human being. No matter how strong or smart or confident I may feel one day. Something could happen the next day, and all those feelings of superiority are gone. It turns into a vicious cycle. Act like everything is fine, something major happens, and out of nowhere you have to cope somehow.

And I understand people cope with what life throws at them in different ways. I find a lot of how the world “copes” tends to come in the form of distractions. Let’s distract from the problems, but do the problems really go away? At some point, we have to face them. The difference is as Christian I don’t just “cope.” I have a Savior who I can turn to during the highs of life, and the lows.

And I’ll be the first to admit that I like to think I can handle what life throws at me on my own, but that is far from the truth. I am human, and I simply cannot handle everything life deals out all too kindly. For everything I can’t understand, and all the things that cause me to worry. I turn to Christ.Β I don’t have to pretend that I have a lid on anything because He knows all my needs.

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

Leave a Reply

